ENVi: A special interest group for school and community engagement professionals working in Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums in Victoria, Australia.

About the Committee

Committee member’s postings on this site are their own and do not necessarily represent their employer’s or Australian Museums and Galleries Association (AMaGA) or Museums Australia Victoria’s positions, strategies, or opinions.


Peter Hoban, President Pete Hoban

Peter is Team Leader of Sovereign Hill in Ballarat. He taught Humanities and English in the state education system and has been involved in museum education at Sovereign Hill for too many years to mention. @pdhoban


Silvia Ercole, Secretary (General Member since 2013)Silvia Ercole

Silvia Ercole is Education Manager at the Chinese Museum, where she combines her multiple passions for education, history, languages and design. She is a secondary English and history teacher and recently worked on the Engage with Asia through English and History Professional Learning Project with the Asia Education Foundation. She has also worked in multilingual publishing, desktop publishing, graphic design and translations.  @S_Ercole


Christine Healey, Vice President and Social Media Manager (General Member since 2011)

Curator Education and Community Learning at the Incinerator Gallery, Moonee Valley City Council.  Christine previously enjoyed education and volunteer management roles at the Shrine of Remembrance and Heide Museum of Modern Art. Christine is a PhD candidate at RMIT University researching best practice and pedagogies of art museum educators. Christine’s formal qualifications include an MA in Arts Management from RMIT University and a BFA in Photography from the Victorian College of the Arts. Christine is a VIT registered teacher who values divergent thinking. @ChristineHealey linkedin/christinehealey


Patrick Watt, General Member

Patrick is the Museum Program Director at Yarra Ranges. Previously Patrick worked at the Burke Museum & Historic Precinct and National Sports Museum at the MCG. Patrick taught drama and English before working as a museum educator at Sovereign Hill and Scienceworks. Patrick is also the state representative at Museums Australia Education and is a board member of International Museum Theatre Alliance, Asia Pacific.


Andrew Hiskens, General MemberAndrew Hiskens

Andrew consults to cultural (and other) organisations on issues ranging from education to mentorship and creative problem solving. He was a member of the Senior Management Team at State Library Victoria for 22 years, at different times responsible for events, exhibitions, school programs, marketing and communications, publishing, youth and family programs and the Premiers’ Literary Awards. Andrew is the immediate past president of both ENVi and the national museum education network, Museums Australia Education. @ahiskens


Melissa Bedford, General Member (since 2013)Melissa Bedford

Education & Audience Development Officer at Monash University Museum of Art (MUMA). A registered teacher, Melissa completed studies in studies in Education, Visual Arts and Arts Management at The University of Melbourne. Prior to her employment arts sector, Melissa taught VCE Art, Studio Art and Visual Communication in schools for twelve years and held the position of Head of Visual Arts at Presentation College Windsor from 2005-2009. In 2010 Melissa took up the position of Education Officer at the Centre for Contemporary Photography (CCP) where she initiated the Fitzroy Art Spaces Tour (FAST) project and continues to work on a freelance basis. Melissa was formerly a member of the VCAA’s Studio Arts Review Committee, VCE folio reviewer and contributed to the support material within the Studio Arts curriculum document. She is committed to increasing youth access to and engagement with contemporary art and is a member of the Arts Network within the DEECD’s Strategic Partnerships Program and the ENVI Committee.


Sacha Fawkes, General Member (since 2017) State Representative Museums Australia Education

Sacha is the Visitor Experience Coordinator at the National Sports Museum working underneath the hallowed turf of the Melbourne Cricket Ground. A qualified teacher who taught in school after a decade as a circus professional, he focuses on engaging audiences through kinaesthetic learning and thought provoking questions. Previously Sacha has created programs for the National Museum of Australia and the Western Australian Museum. He holds a B.A in Anthropology and English, a Graduate Diploma in Education, and a Diploma of Circus Arts all of which contribute to his museum practice.  @Sachafun


Louise Riley, General Member (since 2018)

Louise Riley is Education and Training Officer at the Shrine of Remembrance where she works across varied programs, focusing on stories of Victorian service and commemoration. She taught in NSW secondary schools for five years, mainly in History. Louise has relished developing education and community programs at the Sydney Heritage Fleet, Tyne and Wear Archives and Museums, UK and closer to home, at Yarra Ranges Regional Museum before joining the Shrine.


Michelle Kiag, General Member (since 2018)

Michelle Kiag is Program Developer for the National Trust of Australia (Victoria). Developing and supporting school education programs for the National Trust delivered across several heritage properties in Melbourne’s CBD and regional Victoria. Prior to her current role, Michelle worked as Education Developer for Melbourne Water and as a Primary classroom teacher for 8 years. Michelle has completed a BAEd and MEd in Leadership. @michelle_kiag


Mei Liu, General Member (since 2019)

Mei Liu is the Program Coordinator for STEM Education Experiences at Museums Victoria, Scienceworks. Mei develops and supports school education programs, teacher professional learning and education partnerships. Mei is a primary trained educator with a background in science and science communication and has worked in outreach for Questacon and Monash University. Mei is passionate about active learning and student engagement through innovation and making. Mei is a Board Member of Maker Community Inc, a makerspace in Brunswick. Instagram: @scicommlife, Twitter: @makermei, LinkedIn: meiliu1


Education Network Victoria (ENVi) is a network of museum and gallery education professionals. 

Membership is via Australian Museums and Galleries Association

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: